Skip to main content
This preface is included in your selections.

The City of Berkeley is located in the County of Alameda and is one of the oldest Council-Manager Cities in California, this form of government having been adopted in 1923. The City Manager is appointed by the City Council and all other employees and officers are appointed by the City Manager.

The elective Officers of the City consist of a Mayor, eight Councilmembers, an Auditor, a School Board comprised of five directors and a Rent Stabilization Board comprised of nine commissioners. The Auditor, School Board Directors and Rent Board Commissioners are elected at large for four-year terms. The Mayor is also elected at large for a four-year term. The Council is elected by districts for four-year terms.